PM Praises National Bank Governor for Swift Action on Old, Stained, or Damaged US Dollars in Siem Reap | Kandal Province to Host Event with Khmer Singers and Martial Arts Competition to Celebrate Opening of Prek Chik Funan Techo | Senior Minister Kun Kim Confirms Ongoing Search Operation for Missing Helicopter Despite Severe Weather | PM Hun Manet Receives Chinese Ambassador | ASEAN Plus Three Junior Science Odyssey Kicks Off in Siem Reap, Cambodia |

Cambodia Leads Efforts to Globalize Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Treaty

Phnom Penh: Dr. Ly Thuch, the 2024 President of the Ottawa Convention, led the Universalization Coordinating Group's meeting to strategize on enhancing the global adoption of the Ottawa Convention. The focus was on demining efforts in the Pacific, encouraging non-member states to join, and outlining the pathway for additional states to become members. The session saw participation from member country representatives and international bodies, including Cambodia, Australia, Belgium, the United Kingdom, Canada, Switzerland, Japan, Sweden, the Netherlands, Germany, and representatives from the International Support Unit (ISU), the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL), and the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC).

Dr. Thuch elaborated on Cambodia's leadership role in the 2024 Convention, under Prime Minister Hun Manet, detailing the objectives, mechanisms, and strategies for global outreach and persuading non-member states to ratify or agree to join the Ottawa Convention. He highlighted the use of diplomatic channels, engagements, summits, Pacific Island forums, and other relevant meetings to foster cooperation and gain support from allied nations.

The meeting acknowledged and supported Cambodia's initiatives towards globalizing the Ottawa Convention, offering essential insights and information for dissemination at various forums. It also aimed to compile data on the stance, prerequisites, and decision-making processes of countries yet to join the Convention as members.

Currently, 33 countries remain outside the Ottawa Convention. The January 2024 meeting set specific targets for the accession of countries including Bahrain, Laos, Marseille, Micronesia, Nepal, Tonga, Vietnam, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Lebanon, Mongolia, and Singapore, marking a concerted effort towards universal adherence.

Related News