King Home following Trip to India | CIFF Launches 12th Festival with Distinguished Guests and Sneak Peeks | Oliva Kong Sets the Fashion World Ablaze with Kalkin: The Royalty | King Appreciates India’s Development Aid in Preserving Culture and Demining Countryside |

Government Designates Fourth Economic Zone in Northwest Provinces

SIHANOUKVILLE: Four northwestern provinces have been designated as Cambodi’a fourth economic zone in agreements with China called the “Diamond Cooperation.” The provinces of Battambang, Pailin, Banteay Meanchey and Pursat have been acknowledged for their potential in agriculture and fishing to attract Chinese investment.

Speaking at a meeting with tire factory workers in Sihanoukville on the morning of May 22, Prime Minister Hun Sen confirmed that the Royal Government of Cambodia and the Government of China have agreed on the "Diamond Cooperation” aimed at working together in politics, quality control, production capacity, agriculture, industry, energy, security, and person-to-person exchanges in order to develop industrial and technological pathways.

"I designate four provinces: Pursat, Battambang, Pailin and Banteay Meanchey, as the fourth economic zone," he said.

He reminded the audience that the Chinese government provided Covid-19 vaccines to save the lives of Cambodians. He said, "If I am not allowed to rely on China, who should I rely on? If I do not rely on China, how can I get people vaccinated?"

The Royal Government of Cambodia established the first economic zone in Phnom Penh, the second in Sihanoukville, and the third in Siem Reap.

Related News